Nickname : The Toffees
Established : 1878
Ground : Goodison Park
Manager : Rafael Benítez
League : Premier League
Everton History

Author : | Created : 2021-11-16 11:42:00

History of the club

Everton Football Team is an English professional football club headquartered in Liverpool that participates in the Premier League, the top flight of English football. The club is a founding member of the Football League and has participated in the top level for a record 118 seasons, missing just four top-flight seasons (1930–31, 1951–52, 1952–53, 1953–54). Everton is the English Premier League's second-longest-serving club, having won nine league crowns, five FA Cups, one European Cup Winners' Cup, and nine Charity Shields.

Everton, founded in 1878, won its first League Championship in the 1890–91 season. Following four further League Championships and two FA Cup victories, the club fell into a post-World War II calm until a 1960s rebirth. Everton enjoyed a run of continuous success in the mid-1980s, when they won two more League Championships, one FA Cup, and the 1985 European Cup Winners' Cup. The FA Cup, won by the club in 1995, was the most recent major prize won by the club.

The fans of the club are informally referred to as "Evertonians" or "Blues." Everton's major opponents are Liverpool, whose Anfield stadium is less than a mile from Goodison Park, and the two teams compete in the Merseyside rivalry. Everton has been situated at Goodison Park since 1892, after moving from their former home at Anfield due to a rent dispute. Home jerseys are royal blue, while shorts and socks are white.


Everton Football Club is a limited corporation, with the board of directors owning the majority of the shares. As of May 2014, the club had a net total debt of £28.1 million with a revenue of £120.5 million and a profit of £28.2 million, according to its most current set of records. The club's overdraft with Barclays Bank is backed by the Premier League's "Basic Award Fund," a guaranteed payment provided to teams for playing in the Premier League. In 2002, Everton agreed to a £30 million long-term loan with Bear Stearns and Prudential plc for a period of 25 years. In addition to consolidating debts, the loan served as a source of funding for the purchase of more players. The stadium at Goodison Park has been pledged as collateral. Farhad Moshiri purchased a 49.9 percent share in the club on February 27, 2016, according to the club's official website.


Originally, Everton played on Stanley Park's southeast corner. The first formal match was held in 1879. J. Cruitt donated the club's land on Priory Road in 1882. Everton F.C. became tenants at Anfield in 1884, owned by John Orrell, a friend of Everton F.C. member John Houlding. Anfield was loaned to the club by Orrell for a nominal fee. By charging Everton a rent that rose steadily from £100 in 1885 to £240 in 1888 – and continued to rise until the team departed the ground in 1892, Houlding essentially became the club's landlord. The club considered the rent increase to be too high. After a second disagreement with the club's committee, Houlding registered the firm "Everton F.C. and Athletic Grounds Ltd" in an effort to seize complete control of the club. Everton moved from Anfield to a new stadium, Goodison Park, where they have been ever since. When Houlding sought to take over the name, colours, fixtures, and position of Everton in the Premier League, he was refused by the Football Association. Instead, Houlding created a new club, Liverpool F.C., which is still active today.

Goodison Park, the first top football facility to be built in England, initially hosted a match in 1892 and is still in use today. Goodison Park has hosted more top-flight football matches than any other stadium in the United Kingdom, and it was the only English club stadium to host a semi-final match in the 1966 FIFA World Cup in Mexico. Additionally, it was the first English stadium to include under-soil heating and two stages on all sides.

Cups won

Everton is the second-longest continuous serving club in English top flight football and has won nine league titles, five FA Cups, one European Cup Winners' Cup and nine Charity Shields.

Current squad

1 GK Jordan Pickford

2 DF Jonjoe Kenny

4 DF Mason Holgate

5 DF Michael Keane

6 MF Allan

7 FW Richarlison

8 MF Fabian Delph

9 FW Dominic Calvert-Lewin

10 MF Gylfi Sigurðsson

11 FW Demarai Gray

12 DF Lucas Digne

13 DF Yerry Mina

14 FW Andros Townsend

15 GK Asmir Begović

16 MF Abdoulaye Doucouré

17 FW Alex Iwobi

20 FW Cenk Tosun

21 MF André Gomes

22 DF Ben Godfrey

23 DF Séamus Coleman (captain)

24 FW Anthony Gordon

25 MF Jean-Philippe Gbamin

26 MF Tom Davies

31 GK Andy Lonergan

32 DF Jarrad Branthwaite

33 FW Salomón Rondón

50 FW Ellis Simms

Biggest transfers

André Gomes was purchased for £22,000,000 in the 19/20 league and similarly, Ademola Lookman was sold for £22,000,000 in the same season.

Top Goalscorers

With 751 first-team appearances between 1981 and 1997, Neville Southall holds the record for most Everton appearances. Brian Labone, the late centre back and former captain, ranks second with 534 appearances. Ted Sagar, a goalkeeper, was the longest-serving player, playing from 1929 until 1953. This period spanned both world wars and resulted in a total of 495 appearances on both sides of the battlefield. When it comes to league clean sheets, Southall had previously held the record with 15 in a season. This record, however, was surpassed in 2008–09 by American goalkeeper Tim Howard, who finished the season with 17 clean sheets. Dixie Dean leads the club in goals scored with 383 in all competitions; Graeme Sharp is second with 159. Dean still retains the English national record for the most goals scored in a season, with a total of 60 goals scored.

Everton has spent 117 seasons in England's top flight (Division One/Premier League) (the club was in Division 2 in 1930–31 and 1951–54).