Football - Premier League

History of the league

English First Division clubs believed that a dramatic reform of football was required if they and the game as a whole were to expand and flourish in the early 1990s. As a result, on July 17, 1991, they signed the Founder Members Agreement, which laid forth the foundations for the Premier League's formation. The League would be commercially independent of both the Football League and the FA, allowing it to negotiate its own broadcast and sponsorship deals. The 22 First Division clubs formally resigned from the Football League on February 20, 1992, and the Premier League was formed as a limited company three months later, on May 27, 1992.

The League's first television arrangement was made with pay-TV broadcaster BSkyB, which was a bold move at the time, but Sky has remained ever-present and has played a major role in the League's development to its current levels.

The Premier League's first season began on Saturday, August 15, 1992, with 22 clubs.

Arsenal, Aston Villa, Blackburn Rovers, Chelsea, Coventry City, Crystal Palace, Everton, Ipswich Town, Leeds United, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Middlesbrough, Norwich City, Nottingham Forest, Oldham Athletic, Queens Park Rangers, Sheffield United, Sheffield Wednesday, Southampton, Tottenham Hotspur, and Wimbledon were the first 22 members of the new Premier League.

Arsenal, Chelsea, Everton, Liverpool, Manchester United, and Tottenham Hotspur are the six clubs that have always been present in the Premier League: Arsenal, Chelsea, Everton, Liverpool, Manchester United, and Tottenham Hotspur.

When the Premier League was founded, it was always intended to limit the number of clubs to 20 in order to foster club and worldwide development and greatness. When four clubs were relegated and only two were promoted at the end of the 1994/95 season, this was accomplished.

Previous Winners

Liverpool F.C. is the current Premier League champion. Every year, 20 clubs compete in the Premier League, but only seven have won one or more titles. Arsenal (3), Chelsea (5), Manchester United (13), Manchester City (4), Liverpool, Blackburn Rovers, and Leicester City are among the champions. Manchester United has won the Premier League more times than anyone else, with a total of 13 victories. Manchester City, the Premier League champion in 2017-18, has a record of 100 points. The Premier League has had 49 clubs play since its inception in 1992.

Year Champions Runner-Up

2019-20 Liverpool Manchester City

2018-19 Manchester City Liverpool

2017–18 Manchester City Manchester United

2016–17 Chelsea Tottenham Hotspur

2015–16 Leicester City Arsenal

2014–15 Chelsea Manchester City

2013–14 Manchester City Liverpool

2012–13 Manchester United Manchester City

2011–12 Manchester City Manchester United

2010–11 Manchester United Chelsea

2009–10 Chelsea Manchester United

2008–09 Manchester United Liverpool

2007–08 Manchester United Chelsea

2006–07 Manchester United Chelsea

2005–06 Chelsea Manchester United

2004–05 Chelsea Arsenal

2003–04 Arsenal Chelsea

2002–03 Manchester United Arsenal

2001–02 Arsenal Liverpool

2000–01 Manchester United Arsenal

1999–2000 Manchester United Arsenal

1998–99 Manchester United Arsenal

1997–98 Arsenal Manchester United

1996–97 Manchester United Newcastle United

1995–96 Manchester United Newcastle United

1994–95 Blackburn Rovers Manchester United

1993–94 Manchester United Blackburn Rovers

1992–93 Manchester United Aston Villa

Top Goalscorers

In February of next year, the Premier League will mark its 30th anniversary.

There have been a lot of great marksmen over the years. England's top division has seen everything, from England captains like Alan Shearer and Wayne Rooney to suave Frenchmen like Thierry Henry and Argentine legends like Sergio Aguero.

But who are the all-time top scorers in the Premier League?

1. Alan Shearer - 260

2. Wayne Rooney - 208

3. Andy Cole - 187

4. Sergio Aguero - 184

5. Frank Lampard - 177

6. Thierry Henry - 175

7. Harry Kane - 166

8. Robbie Fowler - 163

9. Jermain Defoe - 162

10. Michael Owen - 150

Top Appearances

It is safe to argue that the Premier League has produced some of the finest players in the history of the game since its start in 1992. Many players have carved up a name for themselves in the league before going on to pastures new. Some, on the other hand, stayed and became legends in their clubs and leagues.

1. Gareth Barry- 653 appearances

2. Ryan Giggs- 632 appearances

3. Frank Lampard- 609 appearances

4. David James- 572 appearances

5. Gary Speed- 535 appearances

6. James Milner- 534 appearances

7. Emile Heskey- 516 appearances

8. Mark Schwarzer- 514 appearances

9. Jamie Carragher- 508 appearances

10. Phil Neville- 505 appearances

Most Successful Teams

The Premier League has been around for 28 years. Only Manchester United, Chelsea, Arsenal, Liverpool, Tottenham Hotspur, and Everton have remained in the Premier League over that time.

Since the rebranding in 1992, 49 different clubs have competed in the top division, with no new names since Brighton and Huddersfield were promoted in 2017.

We ranked all 49 of those clubs based on total points earned, seasons spent in the league, and average points per game, and the results show that several Football League clubs are among the top twenty most successful of the modern world.

Total points 1992-2020

Despite spending seven seasons without winning the league, Manchester United still leads the all-time Premier League standings by 223 points, with Arsenal the only other team to reach 2000 points. Chelsea and Liverpool round out a top-four that looks quite familiar.

Six of the top 20 clubs will not compete in the Premier League in 2020-21, with 18th-placed Bolton Wanderers preparing for only their second season in the fourth division.

Only 42 of the Premier League's 49 teams have reached 100 points, with Brighton being the most recent to do so.

1. Manchester United – 2,234

2. Arsenal – 2,011

3. Chelsea – 1,997

4. Liverpool – 1,948

5. Tottenham – 1,654

6. Everton – 1,476

7. Manchester City – 1,450

8. Newcastle – 1,316

9. Aston Villa – 1,258

10. West Ham – 1,137

11. Southampton – 980

12. Blackburn – 970

13. Leeds – 692

14. Leicester – 669

15. Middlesbrough – 664

15. Sunderland – 618

16. Fulham – 612

18. Bolton – 575

19. Crystal Palace – 472

20. West Brom – 464

Seasons Spent In The Premier League

In the 28 seasons of the Premier League, only six clubs have been around continuously. In addition to those six years, Aston Villa and Newcastle United each spent only three years outside the Premier League.

Nine of the remaining teams - Southampton, Blackburn, Sunderland, Fulham, Leicester, Bolton, Leeds, West Brom and Stoke - have gone through League One or lower.

28 – Man Utd, Chelsea, Arsenal, Liverpool, Tottenham, Everton

25 – Aston Villa, Newcastle

24 – West Ham

23 – Man City

21 – Southampton

18 – Blackburn

16 – Sunderland

15 – Middlesbrough

14 – Fulham, Leicester

13 – Bolton

12 – Leeds, West Brom

10 – Stoke

Latest News
Latest News

Read about all the breaking news in sports now.

Read Preview
Premier League
Premier League

Latest fixtures from the worlds greatest league.

Read Preview
Canelo v Plant
Canelo v Plant

Canelo Álvarez vs. Caleb Plant, billed as On the Road to Undisputed or simply Undisputed, is an upcoming super middleweight unification professional boxing match contested between WBA (Super), WBC, WBO and The Ring champion, Canelo Álvarez and ...

Read Preview