History of the league

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India that began in 2008. Teams from major Indian cities compete in the league, which is based on a round-robin group and knockout system.

The IPL, which was created by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), has grown to be the most lucrative and popular cricket league in the world. Matches usually start in the late afternoon or evening, with at least a portion of them being played under floodlights at night to maximise the television audience for international broadcasts. League matches were originally played on a home-and-away basis between all teams, but with the projected expansion to ten clubs (split into two groups of five) in 2011, the structure was revised such that matchups between some teams would be limited to a single match.

The top four teams compete in three play-off matches, with one losing club getting a second chance to advance to the final, a twist designed to increase possible television income. The four teams that finished at the top of the tables compete in a series of knockout games in the play-off part of the tournament, which gives one team that lost its first-round game a second chance to proceed to the final match.

With tThe Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Deccan Chargers (located in Hyderabad), Delhi Daredevils, Punjab XI Kings (Mohali), Kolkata Knight Riders, and Rajasthan Royals were the eight original franchises (Jaipur). The BCCI removed two franchises, Rajasthan and Punjab, from the league in late 2010 due to ownership policy violations, although they were eventually reinstated in time for the 2011 competition.

The IPL, the world's finest cricketers, who had rarely made the kind of money as their counterparts in other professional sports, became millionaires virtually overnight. The IPL franchise owners, which included large corporations, Bollywood actors, and media moguls, competed for the top players in auctions held by the league.The well-funded Mumbai Indians held the league's largest payroll, more than $100 million, at the start of the IPL. In the inaugural auction for the 2008 season, the Chennai Super Kings paid $1.5 million for Mahendra Dhoni's services, while the Kolkata Knight Riders paid $2.4 million for Gautam Gambhir, the Indian national team's opening batsman, in the bidding for the 2011 season.The IPL welcomed two new franchises for the 2011 season: the Pune Warriors India and the Kochi Tuskers Kerala. The BCCI revoked the Kochi club's contract after only one year of service. The Deccan Chargers were replaced by the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL in 2013.

Previous Winners

The 14th edition of India's premier T20 competition took place in 2021. After India's historic triumph in the inaugural ICC World Twenty20 in 2007, the Indian Premier League was born. The league was founded in 2008 with eight franchises. Since then, the IPL has drew some of the best cricketers from across the world. It has become the most popular T20 competition in the world, as well as a major cash cow for the BCCI. The Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in the event, having won five titles and are two-time reigning champions. Last season, Chennai Super Kings, the league's most consistent team throughout the years, missed out on a play-off berth. MS Dhoni's team would like to put those memories behind them and add to their three championships this season. The IPL has provided a fantastic opportunity for new players to exhibit their abilities and rub elbows with some of the top players in the world. After breaking through in the IPL, players like Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, and Ravichandran Ashwin have all gone on to become superstars for the Indian cricket team. Rishabh Pant, Washington Sundar, and more are following in their footsteps.

Year IPL Winners

2008 Rajasthan Royals

2009 Deccan Chargers

2010 Chennai Super Kings

2011 Chennai Super Kings

2012 Kolkata Knight Riders

2013 Mumbai Indians

2014 Kolkata Knight Riders

2015 Mumbai Indians

2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad

2017 Mumbai Indians

2018 Chennai Super Kings

2019 Mumbai Indians

2020 Mumbai Indians

2021 Chennai Super Kings

Top Run Scorers

Throughout the Indian Premier League season, the leading run scorer is awarded the Orange Cap. In the event of a tie, the batsman with the higher strike rate gets the Orange Cap. Even if an opposition batsman has overtaken his runs, the batsman with the most runs will wear the Orange Cap while fielding until the completion of the innings. The Orange Cap is awarded to the player who scores the most runs overall at the end of the competition. Shaun Marsh was the first player to win the Orange Cap, and Brendon McCullum was the first player to wear it. Last year, KL Rahul of Kings XI Punjab won the title after playing 14 matches and scoring 670 runs, including a 132-run innings. His strike rate was 129.34, with 58 fours and 23 sixes sprinkled throughout.

Top Wickets

The Purple Cap is awarded to the IPL's leading wicket-taker. During the course of the season, the bowler with the most wickets in the tournament would wear the Purple Cap while fielding, with the overall leading wicket-taker at the end of the campaign winning the Purple Cap on the day of the season's final. In the event of a tie, the Purple Cap would go to the bowler with the better economy rate. Sohail Tanvir of Pakistan was the first bowler to be awarded the Purple Cap. In 11 games, he grabbed 22 wickets. Kagiso Rabada of the Delhi Capitals got the purple cap for getting the most wickets last season. In 17 games, he got 30 wickets, surrendering 548 runs in 65.4 overs with an economy rate of 8.34.

Most Successful Teams

1. Mumbai Indians (MI)

2. Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

3. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

4. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

5. Delhi Capitals (DC)

Top Appearances

Sr. No. Player Matches Teams played for

1 MS Dhoni 220 CSK, RPS

2 Dinesh Karthik 213 DC, GL, KXIP, KKR, MI, RCB

3 Rohit Sharma 213 DC*, MI

4 Virat Kohli 207 RCB

5 Suresh Raina 205 CSK, GL

6 Ravindra Jadeja 200 CSK, GL, KTK, RR

7 Robin Uthappa 193 KKR, MI, PWI, RCB

8 Shikhar Dhawan 192 DC, MI, SRH

9 AB de Villiers 184 DC, RCB

10 Kieron Pollard 178 MI

Cricket Betting Markets

World Cup 2023November 19th 2023 9:30 am
Cricket Winner
South Africa9/1
New Zealand10/1
Sri Lanka25/1
England v New Zealand World CupOctober 5th 2023 9:30 am
Cricket Match Result
New Zealand7/4
Pakistan v Netherlands World CupOctober 6th 2023 9:30 am
Bangladesh v Afghanistan World CupOctober 7th 2023 6:00 am
South Africa v Sri Lanka World CupOctober 7th 2023 9:30 am
South Africa4/7
Sri Lanka11/8
India v Australia World CupOctober 8th 2023 9:30 am
Queensland v South Australia One Day MatchSeptember 28th 2023 5:05 am
Cricket Man Of The Match
UT Khawaja7/1
BR McDermott8/1
HJ Hunt9/1
S Heazlett10/1
KW Richardson10/1
J Lehmann12/1
MG Neser12/1
MT Renshaw12/1
MT Steketee12/1
JM Carder12/1
HTRY Thornton14/1
M Bryant14/1
J Fraser-McGurk14/1
WA Agar14/1
G Sandhu14/1
HNA Conway16/1
B Doggett16/1
BA Manenti16/1
N McAndrew16/1
J Buckingham20/1
DR Drew20/1
JJ Peirson20/1
MP Kuhnemann20/1
NA McSweeney20/1
H Nielsen20/1
JJ Bazley20/1
Latest News
Latest News

Read about all the breaking news in sports now.

Read Preview
Premier League
Premier League

Latest fixtures from the worlds greatest league.

Read Preview
Canelo v Plant
Canelo v Plant

Canelo Álvarez vs. Caleb Plant, billed as On the Road to Undisputed or simply Undisputed, is an upcoming super middleweight unification professional boxing match contested between WBA (Super), WBC, WBO and The Ring champion, Canelo Álvarez and ...

Read Preview